Puratos Bakery schools for a better life in India and Brazil

We believe it is very important not only to share our skills and know-how with our commercial partners, but also to help underprivileged communities in the countries where we operate. Being a reliable local partner is part of our international business philosophy, which we demonstrated by opening bakery schools in India and Brazil.

As in many other developing countries, consumer tastes in India and Brazil are becoming increasingly westernized, with an increasing demand for finished goods such as cakes, pastries and chocolates. Supermarkets, bakeries and cake shops, as well as hotels and cruise ships, all want to increase the range of products they have to offer, but many of them suffer from a shortage of skilled labour.

Bakery Schools India
Bakery School Brazil

Bakers of the future

Determined to teach young people the skills needed to work in the bakery, patisserie and chocolate sectors, Puratos has invested in two bakery schools, one in Brazil and one in India. In both countries, the courses have been designed to take pupils beyond basic education and to give them the practical training needed to make a decent living. The program also includes paid internships in various companies. We as a company also commit to employ pupils who graduate from the schools in India, Brazil or elsewhere, or place them with one of our partners.

Based on the proven success rate of the projects in India and Brazil, we are planning to expand the program so that even more young people from developing countries can turn their passion for bakery, pastries and chocolate into a rewarding career.

India

Our first bakery school was inaugurated in India in August 2014. Twenty-five pupils from underprivileged areas enrol the program each year. Lessons are many and varied, from learning the basics in cookery and bakery to progressing to more advanced lessons in patisserie and chocolate-making.

Brazil

In April 2015, in collaboration with the Gol de Letra Foundation, we launched a similar project in an underprivileged neighbourhood of Sao Paolo where every year around 20 pupils have the opportunity to take part in workshops for a period of 18 months.

If you would like to find out more about our bakery schools, please contact your local representative.

Écoles de boulangerie

Des écoles de boulangerie Puratos pour améliorer la vie en Inde et au Brésil

Nous pensons qu’il est très important, non seulement de partager nos compétences et notre savoir-faire avec nos partenaires commerciaux, mais aussi d’aider les communautés défavorisées dans les pays où nous sommes implantés. C’est même l’un des piliers de notre philosophie commerciale internationale. Et pour le prouver, nous avons ouvert des écoles de boulangerie en Inde et au Brésil.

Comme c’est le cas dans un grand nombre de pays en développement, les goûts des consommateurs indiens et brésiliens ne cessent de s’occidentaliser, avec une forte demande pour des produits raffinés, comme les gâteaux, les pâtisseries et les chocolats. Les supermarchés, les boulangeries et les pâtisseries, ainsi que les hôtels et les croisières maritimes désirent offrir un plus grand choix de produits, mais sont confrontés à un manque de main-d’œuvre qualifiée.

Bakery Schools India
Bakery School Brazil

Les boulangers de demain

Motivée par sa détermination à enseigner aux jeunes les compétences nécessaires pour travailler dans les secteurs de la boulangerie, de la pâtisserie et du chocolat, Puratos a investi dans deux écoles de boulangerie : une au Brésil et une en Inde. Dans ces deux pays, les cours sont conçus pour aller au-delà de l’enseignement de base et donner aux enfants la formation pratique nécessaire pour gagner décemment leur vie. Le programme comprend également des stages payés dans diverses entreprises. Notre compagnie s’engage à employer les jeunes diplômés des écoles d’Inde, du Brésil et d’ailleurs ou à les placer chez l’un de nos partenaires.

Compte tenu du succès des projets en Inde et au Brésil, nous avons l’intention d’étendre le programme à d’autres pays en développement pour aider un plus grand nombre de jeunes gens qui souhaitent faire de leur passion pour la boulangerie, la pâtisserie ou la chocolaterie une carrière gratifiante.

Inde

Nous avons inauguré notre première école de boulangerie en Inde en août 2014. Chaque année, l’école sélectionne 25 étudiants originaires de quartiers défavorisés. Les cours sont nombreux et variés, et vont de l’apprentissage des bases de la cuisine et de la boulangerie, à des notions plus avancées de la pâtisserie et de la fabrication de chocolats.

Brésil

En avril 2015, en collaboration avec la Gol de Letra Foundation, nous avons lancé un projet semblable dans un quartier défavorisé de Sao Paolo où chaque année, une vingtaine d’élèves sont invités à participer à des ateliers de 18 mois.

Pour en savoir plus sur nos écoles de boulangerie, visitez notre page Contact.

Bakery Schools India